Did you win the Mann Award?

A mockup of the Margaret Mann Award plaque to be created and displayed in North Quad this fall.

UMSI needs your help! The records of the recipients of the Margaret Mann Award for 1985, ’86, ’88, and ’89 cannot be found.

If you received the award yourself or know who did during those years, please send a note to Associate Professor Paul Conway at pconway@umich.edu.

The names of all past winners — dating from 1941 — will be added to a new plaque to be unveiled this fall. This year marks the 75th anniversary of the establishment of the award upon the retirement of Associate Professor Margaret Mann. Joining the list of recipients, at our April commencement, were MSI students Jesse A. Johnston and Katy Mahraj.

The Margaret Mann award was established by the University of Michigan Library Science Alumni Society. Professor Mann achieved national distinction as an educator in her field. It is awarded annually to one or more students as an academic honor, based upon demonstration of ability and promise of professional development.

Share your thoughts with the UMSI community:

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s